# American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

#### **OFFICERS**

### **PRESIDENT**

James R. Raborn Baker Botts LLP One Shell Plaza 910 Louisiana Street Houston, TX 77002 Phone: (713) 229-1579 Fax: (713) 229-7779

### VICE-PRESIDENT

Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC

#### **TREASURER**

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

### ASS'T TREASURER

R. Bradford Huss San Francisco, CA

#### **SECRETARY**

Norman P. Stein Philadelphia, PA

### ASS'T SECRETARY

Harold J. Ashner Washington, DC

## IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Mary Ellen Signorille Washington, DC

# AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL HONORS NATION'S TOP BENEFITS ATTORNEYS

### Prestigious Law College Selects Top Attorneys as Fellows

New Orleans, Louisiana, November 2013 -- The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel honored as new Fellows outstanding employee benefits attorneys selected from throughout the country at its Fourteenth Annual Induction Dinner on November 9, 2013.

Induction as a Fellow of this organization is viewed as a national distinction. Each nominee is required to have focused on employee benefits law for at least 20 years and have demonstrated a sustained commitment to public awareness and understanding of benefits laws through such activities as writing, speaking, public policy analysis, public education or public service. Nominees are also required to have provided exceptionally high-quality professional services to clients, the bar, and the public. As a result, selection as a Fellow is a high honor reflecting substantive contributions to the field of employee benefits over the Fellow's entire career. The inductees join over 390 current Fellows in the organization.

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel, Inc. (ACEBC), a not-for-profit organization, was formed in recognition of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare and disability plans. The College's mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College encourages the study and development of employee benefits laws and engages in projects such as initiating professional discussions and high level symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys. The College also sponsors a law student outreach mentoring program and a national law student writing competition to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law.

"The College is honored to add this group of superb lawyers as new Fellows. Their sustained excellence and service to the employee benefits community and the public exemplifies what the College was created to recognize," said James R. Raborn of Baker Botts LLP in Houston, TX, and President of the College.

A list of the newly inducted Fellows is attached. The College's website is: <a href="www.acebc.com">www.acebc.com</a>. For further information, contact James Raborn at (713) 229-1579 or at james.raborn@bakerbotts.com.

### BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Harold J. Ashner Washington, DC

Eleanor Banister Atlanta, GA

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

Henry C. Eickelberg Falls Church, VA

Paul M. Hamburger Washington, DC

> Jeffrey Lewis Oakland, CA

Joy M. Mercer Florham Park, NJ

James A. Nelson Sacramento, CA

> Lissa J. Paris Hartford, CT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

James R. Raborn Houston, TX

Priscilla E. Ryan Chicago, IL

Mary Ellen Signorille Washington, DC

Norman P. Stein Philadelphia, PA

Cynthia Van Bogaert Washington, DC

> Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC

## AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL

### 2013 Fellows

Elizabeth E. Drigotas, Washington, DC

John R. Harney, Washington, DC

Al Holifield, Knoxville, TN

Gregory H. Macpherson, Portland, OR

Kathryn L. Moore, Lexington, KY

Robert Rachal, New Orleans, LA

Jonathan G. Rose, Washington, DC

Peter von Maur Rosene, Minneapolis, MN

Jeffrey G. Stein, New York, NY

Lisa A. Van Fleet, St. Louis, MO

Nicholas J. White, Los Angeles, CA