OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

James R. Raborn Baker Botts LLP One Shell Plaza 910 Louisiana Street Houston, TX 77002 Phone: (713) 229-1579 Fax: (713) 229-7779

VICE-PRESIDENT Martha Jo Wagner

Washington, DC

TREASURER

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

ASS'T TREASURER

R. Bradford Huss San Francisco, CA

SECRETARY

Norman P. Stein Philadelphia, PA

ASS'T SECRETARY Harold J. Ashner

Washington, DC

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Mary Ellen Signorille Washington, DC

American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL SELECTS NATIONAL WRITING COMPETITION WINNERS

Prestigious Law College Announces Winners of the 2013 Writing Competition

New Orleans, Louisiana, November 2013 -- The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel announced the winners of its Ninth Annual Employee Benefits Writing Competition. The 2013 winners are Madeline Sexton Lewis, of the University of Michigan Law School, who is the winner of the Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award and Mark Franke, also of the University of Michigan Law School, who is the winner of the Clarin M. Schwartz Memorial Award. Each award winner receives a prize of \$1,500 and a copy of the EMPLOYEE BENEFITS LAW treatise published by the Bloomberg BNA. The winners will be honored at the College's annual dinner in New Orleans, Louisiana, on November 9, 2013. The winning articles, *The Legislative History of the Nondiscrimination Provision of Qualified Retirement Plans* by Madeline Sexton Lewis and *The Detroit Pension Bankruptcy Trust: A Proposal for the Resolution of Detroit's Pension Obligations under Chapter 9 of the Bankruptcy Code* by Mark Franke will also be submitted to national journals for publication review.

The mission of the College is "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." To further this mission, the College encourages the study and development of employee benefits law and sponsors an annual writing competition to encourage legal scholarship by law students in this evolving area of law. The writing competition is open to all law students nationally. Other projects of the College include initiating professional discussions and high level symposiums regarding significant employee benefits issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, co-sponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

The winning articles by Ms. Lewis and Mr. Franke were selected based on, among other factors: (i) depth and creativity of legal analysis; (ii) thoroughness of legal research; (iii) organization and writing style; (iv) difficulty of subject matter; and (v) consideration of labor, tax or other employee benefits policy implications.

"The College congratulates our 2013 Writing Competition winners. Given the number of outstanding submissions we received this year, to have been chosen for these awards is a testament to the excellence of their papers," said James R. Raborn of Baker Botts LLP in Houston, TX, and President of the College.

For further information about the College, see the College's website at <u>www.acebc.com</u>. For further information about the Writing Competition, contact Peter Kelly, Chair of the 2013 Writing Competition Committee, at Peter.Kelly@bcbsa.com.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Harold J. Ashner Washington, DC

Eleanor Banister Atlanta, GA

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

Henry C. Eickelberg Falls Church, VA

Paul M. Hamburger Washington, DC

> Jeffrey Lewis Oakland, CA

Joy M. Mercer Florham Park, NJ

James A. Nelson Sacramento, CA

> Lissa J. Paris Hartford, CT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

James R. Raborn Houston, TX

Priscilla E. Ryan Chicago, IL

Mary Ellen Signorille Washington, DC

> Norman P. Stein Philadelphia, PA

Cynthia Van Bogaert Washington, DC

Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC