# American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

**OFFICERS** 

#### PRESIDENT

James R. Raborn Baker Botts LLP One Shell Plaza 910 Louisiana Street Houston, TX 77002 Phone: (713) 229-1579 Fax: (713) 229-7779

#### VICE-PRESIDENT Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC

ngton, DC

#### TREASURER

Henry C. Eickelberg Falls Church, VA

ASS'T TREASURER J. Mark Poerio

Washington, DC

SECRETARY Norman P. Stein Philadelphia, PA

ASS'T SECRETARY

Harold J. Ashner Washington, DC

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Mary Ellen Signorille Washington, DC

### AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL SELECTS NATIONAL WRITING COMPETITION WINNERS

## Prestigious Law College Announces Winners of the 2014 Writing Competition

Washington, DC, October 2014 -- The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel announced the winner of its Tenth Annual Employee Benefits Writing Competition. The 2014 winner is Tyrone B. Crawford, of the John Marshall Law School, winner of the Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial. The award winner receives a prize of \$1,500 and a copy of the EMPLOYEE BENEFITS LAW treatise published by the Bloomberg BNA. The winner will be honored at the College's annual dinner in Washington, DC, on October 25, 2014. The winning article, *An Apology for Stephan: Why the Fiduciary Exception is Necessary* by Tyrone B. Crawford will also be submitted to national journals for publication review.

The mission of the College is "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." To further this mission, the College encourages the study and development of employee benefits law and sponsors an annual writing competition to encourage legal scholarship by law students in this evolving area of law. The writing competition is open to all law students nationally. Other projects of the College include initiating professional discussions and high level symposiums regarding significant employee benefits issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, co-sponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

The winning article by Mr. Crawford was selected based on, among other factors: (i) depth and creativity of legal analysis; (ii) thoroughness of legal research; (iii) organization and writing style; (iv) difficulty of subject matter; and (v) consideration of labor, tax or other employee benefits policy implications. "The College congratulates our 2014 Writing Competition winner. Given the number of outstanding submissions we received this year, to have been chosen for this award is a testament to the excellence of his paper," said James R. Raborn of Baker Botts LLP in Houston, TX, and President of the College.

For further information about the College, see the College's website at www.acebc.com. For further information about the Writing Competition, contact Brian Dougherty, Chair of the 2014 Writing Competition Committee, at bdougherty@morganlewis.com.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Harold J. Ashner Washington, DC

Eleanor Banister Atlanta, GA

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

Henry C. Eickelberg Falls Church, VA

Paul M. Hamburger Washington, DC

Kathryn J. Kennedy Chicago, IL

> Joy M. Mercer Florham Park, NJ

James A. Nelson Sacramento, CA

> Lissa J. Paris Hartford, CT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

James R. Raborn Houston, TX

Priscilla E. Ryan Chicago, IL

Roland Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Norman P. Stein Philadelphia, PA

Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC