# American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

#### **OFFICERS**

#### **PRESIDENT**

Martha Jo Wagner Of Counsel Griffith & Wheat PLLC 1050 17<sup>th</sup> Street, NW Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 Phone: (202) 496-4963 Fax: (202) 587-2980

#### VICE-PRESIDENT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

#### **TREASURER**

Henry C. Eickelberg Falls Church, VA

#### ASS'T TREASURER

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

#### **SECRETARY**

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

#### **ASS'T SECRETARY**

James M. Nelson Sacramento, CA

### IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

James R. Raborn Houston, TX

## AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL SELECTS NATIONAL WRITING COMPETITION WINNERS

### Prestigious Law College Announces Winners of the 2015 Writing Competition

Chicago, IL, September 2015 -- The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel announced the winners of its Eleventh Annual Employee Benefits Writing Competition. The 2015 winners are Brian J. Fahey, of the University of Nebraska College of Law, winner of the Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award, and Lindsay Ryan Lowe, of The University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law, winner of the Clarin M. Schwartz Memorial Award. The award winners each receive a prize of \$1,500 and a copy of the EMPLOYEE BENEFITS LAW treatise published by the Bloomberg BNA. The winners will be honored at the College's annual dinner in Chicago, IL, on September 19, 2015. The winning articles, "Make-Whole Relief: Non-Economic Loss, Punitive Damages & Back-Pay Availability Under ERISA §502(a)3) in the Wake of Cigna Corp. v. Amara." by Brian Fahey and "Disability Insurance Standards Differentiate Between Substance Use and Physical Health Conditions: Can a Claim Under the Americans with Disabilities Act Successfully Contest These Discriminatory Standards?" by Lindsay Lowe will also be submitted to national journals for publication review.

The mission of the College is "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." To further this mission, the College encourages the study and development of employee benefits law and sponsors an annual writing competition to encourage legal scholarship by law students in this evolving area of law. The writing competition is open to all law students nationally. Other projects of the College include initiating professional discussions and high level symposiums regarding significant employee benefits issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, co-sponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

The winning articles by Mr. Fahey and Ms. Lowe were selected based on, among other factors: (i) depth and creativity of legal analysis; (ii) thoroughness of legal research; (iii) organization and writing style; (iv) difficulty of subject matter; and (v) consideration of labor, tax or other employee benefits policy implications. "The College congratulates our 2015 Writing Competition winners. Given the number of outstanding submissions we received this year, to have been chosen for this award is a testament to the excellence of these papers," said Martha Jo Wagner of Griffith & Wheat PLLC in Washington, DC, and President of the College.

For further information about the College, see the College's website at www.acebc.com. For further information about the Writing Competition, contact Brian Dougherty, Chair of the 2015 Writing Competition Committee, at bdougherty@morganlewis.com.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Eleanor Banister Atlanta, GA

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

Henry C. Eickelberg Falls Church, VA

Paul M. Hamburger Washington, DC

Kathryn J. Kennedy Chicago, IL

> Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

James M. Nelson Sacramento, CA

> Lissa J. Paris Hartford, CT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

James R. Raborn Houston, TX

Priscilla E. Ryan Chicago, IL

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC

Charles B. Wolf Chicago, IL