American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Martha Jo Wagner Of Counsel Griffith & Wheat PLLC 1050 17th Street, NW Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 Phone: (202) 496-4963 Fax: (202) 587-2980

VICE-PRESIDENT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

TREASURER

Henry C. Eickelberg Lighthouse Point, FL

ASS'T TREASURER

Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

SECRETARY

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

ASS'T SECRETARY

James M. Nelson Sacramento, CA

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL SELECTS NATIONAL WRITING COMPETITION WINNERS

Prestigious Law College Announces Winners of the 2016 Writing Competition

Philadelphia, PA, September 2016 -- The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel announced the winners of its Twelfth Annual Employee Benefits Writing Competition. The 2016 winners are Abbey L. Hendricks, of the Lewis & Clark Law School, winner of the Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award, and Deepa Das Acevedo, of The University of Chicago Law School, winner of the Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award. The award winners each receive a prize of \$1,500 and a copy of the EMPLOYEE BENEFITS LAW treatise published by the Bloomberg BNA. The winners will be honored at the College's annual dinner in Philadelphia, PA, on September 17, 2016. The winning articles, "Multiemployer Pension Plans: Reforms to Sustain and Innovate" by Abbey Hendricks and "Addressing the Retirement Crisis with Shadow 401(k)s" by Deepa Das Acevedo will also be submitted to national journals for publication review.

The mission of the College is "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." To further this mission, the College encourages the study and development of employee benefits law and sponsors an annual writing competition to encourage legal scholarship by law students in this evolving area of law. The writing competition is open to all law students nationally. Other projects of the College include initiating professional discussions and high level symposiums regarding significant employee benefits issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, co-sponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

The winning articles by Ms. Das Acevedo and Ms. Hendricks were selected based on, among other factors: (i) depth and creativity of legal analysis; (ii) thoroughness of legal research; (iii) organization and writing style; (iv) difficulty of subject matter; and (v) consideration of labor, tax or other employee benefits policy implications. "The College congratulates our 2016 Writing Competition winners. Given the number of outstanding submissions we received this year, to have been chosen for this award is a testament to the excellence of these papers," said Martha Jo Wagner of Griffith & Wheat PLLC in Washington, DC, and President of the College.

For further information about the College, see the College's website at www.acebc.com. For further information about the Writing Competition, contact Brian Dougherty, Chair of the 2016 Writing Competition Committee, at brian.dougherty@morganlewis.com.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

Henry C. Eickelberg Lighthouse Point, FL

> Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Paul M. Hamburger Washington, DC

Kathryn J. Kennedy Chicago, IL

> Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

> > Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

James M. Nelson Sacramento, CA

> Lissa J. Paris Hartford, CT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

Priscilla E. Ryan Chicago, IL

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC

> Charles B. Wolf Chicago, IL