OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

J. Mark Poerio Paul Hastings LLP 875 15th Street, NW Washington, DC 20005 Phone: (202) 551-1780 Fax: (202) 551-0180

VICE-PRESIDENT Roland G. Simpson

Los Angeles, CA

TREASURER

Henry C. Eickelberg Lighthouse Point, FL

ASS'T TREASURER Kurt L. Lawson

Washington, DC

SECRETARY Judith P. Broach New York, NY

ASS'T SECRETARY Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC

American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL SELECTS NATIONAL WRITING COMPETITION WINNERS

Prestigious Law College Announces Winners of the 2017 Writing Competition

San Francisco, CA, October 2017 -- The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel announced the winners of its Thirteenth Annual Employee Benefits Writing Competition. The 2017 winners are Alex Engelkamp, from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Law, winner of the Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award, and Michelle Streifthau-Livizos, from Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law, winner of the Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award. The award winners each receive a prize of \$1,500. The winners will be honored at the College's annual dinner in San Francisco, California, on October 14, 2017. The winning articles, "Approaching Paid Sick Leave: Compliance or Preemption?" by Alex Engelkamp and "Protecting the Loyal Hardworker: The Need for a Fair Analysis of Venue Clauses in ERISA Plans" by Michelle Streifthau-Livizos also will be submitted to national journals for publication review.

The mission of the College is "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." To further this mission, the College encourages the study and development of employee benefits law and sponsors an annual writing competition to encourage legal scholarship by law students in this evolving area of law. The writing competition is open to all law students nationally. Other projects of the College include initiating professional discussions and high-level symposiums regarding significant employee benefits issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or co-sponsoring continuing mediators, legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

The winning articles by Ms. Streifthau-Livizos and Mr. Engelkamp were selected based on, among other factors: (i) depth and creativity of legal analysis; (ii) thoroughness of legal research; (iii) organization and writing style; (iv) difficulty of subject matter; and (v) consideration of labor, tax or other employee benefits policy implications. "The College congratulates our 2017 Writing Competition winners. Given the number of outstanding submissions we received this year, to have been chosen for this award is a testament to the excellence of these papers," said J. Mark Poerio of Paul Hastings LLP in Washington, DC, President of the College.

For further information about the College, see the College's website at www.acebc.com. For further information about the Writing Competition, contact Brian Dougherty, Chair of the 2017 Writing Competition Committee, at brian.dougherty@morganlewis.com. BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

Henry C. Eickelberg Lighthouse Point, FL

> Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Kathryn J. Kennedy Chicago, IL

> Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

James M. Nelson Sacramento, CA

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

> Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

Martha Jo Wagner Washington, DC

> Charles B. Wolf Chicago, IL