

**OFFICERS** 

## PRESIDENT

Roland G. Simpson Roland G. Simpson, A Law Corporation 601 South Figueroa St. Suite 4050 Los Angeles, CA 90017 Phone: (213) 596-0918 Fax: (213) 596-0919

VICE-PRESIDENT Mark A. Bodron

Houston, TX

## TREASURER

Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

ASS'T TREASURER Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

SECRETARY Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

ASS'T SECRETARY Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

PAST PRESIDENT J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

## The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

## BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Washington, D.C. – The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC) has named John Turner of the Pension Policy Center and Jen Brown of UnidosUS as the winners of the College's inaugural Simplification Award for original ideas to simplify the complex laws applicable to employee benefit plans. Mr. Turner accepted the award's \$10,000 prize on behalf of himself and Ms. Brown at the College' 19<sup>th</sup> Annual Dinner in Nashville, Tennessee, on September 15, 2018, for their proposals to simplify the rules for required minimum distributions from qualified retirement plans.

The ACEBC Simplification Award has been established with a multi-year grant from a past president of the College, David E. Gordon of Frederic W. Cook & Co, Inc. In making the award at the College's Annual Dinner, Mr. Gordon expressed his reasons for his grant:

"I've been asked how I, someone who has thrived on complexity, could be so intent on pruning it. My fear is that the laws will become so complex ... people give up on ever understanding the laws that govern them. .... And that makes enforcing them increasingly harder. ... It is a threat to the legal system and eventually democracy. ...I think of the Benefits Simplification Award as the smallest of steps against an onrushing tide.

The competition for the 2019 Simplification Award has opened. The rules for the competition and FAQs can be found at the following links on the College's website: https://www.acebc.com/simplification-award

https://www.acebc.com/simplification-award-rules

https://www.acebc.com/simplification-award-faqs

Questions about the Simplification Award should be directed to: Randy Hardock, Chair of the ACEBC Simplification Award Committee at <u>rhhardock@david-harman.com</u>.

ACEBC is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and high-level symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys. The College also sponsors a law student outreach mentoring program and its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law and Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans.

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

> Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

> > Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC