

PRESIDENT

J. Mark Poerio Wagner Law Group 800 Conn. Ave., N.W Washington, DC 20006 Phone: (202) 969-2288 Fax: (202) 969-2568

VICE-PRESIDENT Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

TREASURER Henry C. Eickelberg

Lighthouse Point, FL

ASS'T TREASURER Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

SECRETARY Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

ASS'T SECRETARY Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

Nashville, TN – At its 19th Annual Induction Dinner on September 15, 2018, the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC) honored as new Fellows 14 employee benefits attorneys selected from throughout the country. The ACEBC also awarded its annual prizes to the winners of the College's writing competitions named in honor of Sydney M. Perlstadt and Alvin D. Lurie, as well as to the winners of the College's inaugural Simplification Award for original ideas to simplify the complex laws applicable to employee benefit plans.

Induction as a Fellow of the ACEBC is viewed as national distinction for employee benefits lawyers who have made demonstrably substantive contributions to the field of employee benefits over the Fellow's entire career. Each nominee is required to have focused on employee benefits law for at least 20 years and have a sustained commitment to public awareness and understanding of benefits laws through such activities as writing, speaking, public policy analysis, public education or public service. Nominees are also required to have provided exceptionally high-quality professional services to clients, the bar, and the public. The inductees join over 400 current Fellows in the organization.

ACEBC is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and high-level symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys. The College also sponsors a law student outreach mentoring program and its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law and Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans.

"The College is honored to add this group of superb lawyers as new Fellows. Their sustained excellence and service to the employee benefits community and the public exemplifies what the College was created to recognize," said J. Mark Poerio of The Wagner Law Group in Washington, DC, and President of the College.

A list of the newly inducted Fellows and 2018 award winners is attached. The College's website is <u>www.acebc.com</u>. For further information, contact Mark Poerio at (443) 756-1116 or at <u>mpoerio@wagnerlawgroup.com</u> BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Judith P. Broach New York, NY

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

Henry C. Eickelberg Lighthouse Point, FL

> Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Kathryn J. Kennedy Chicago, IL

> Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

James M. Nelson Sacramento, CA

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL 2018 Fellows

Sherrie Boutwell, Newport Beach, CA

George F. Cicotte, Kennewick, WA

David M. Fusco, Cleveland, OH

Scott E. Galbreath, Sacramento, CA

B. David Joffe, Nashville, TN

Elizabeth Ysla Leight, Chevy Chase, MD

Robert J. Neis, Washington, DC

Sara Pikofsky, Washington, DC

Professor Paul M. Secunda, Milwaukee, WI

Tami Simon, Washington, DC

Todd A. Solomon, Chicago, IL

Benjamin F. Spater, San Francisco, CA

Karen K. Suhre, Dallas, TX

Aliya Wong, Washington, DC

2018 Writing Prizes

Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award: Rebecca Barker, The University of Chicago Law School

Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award: Gregory Moran, The University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Law

2018 Simplification Award

John A. Turner, Pension Policy Center, Washington, DC

Jennifer Brown, UnidosUS, Washington, DC