The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Roland G. Simpson Roland G. Simpson, A Law Corporation 601 South Figueroa St. Suite 4050 Los Angeles, CA 90017 Phone: (213) 596-0918 Fax: (213) 596-0919

VICE-PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

TREASURER

Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

ASS'T TREASURER

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

SECRETARY

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

ASS'T SECRETARY

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

PAST PRESIDENT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL & THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA, COLUMBUS SCHOOL OF LAW

Are pleased to announce that

CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY WINS THE ELLEN A. (NELL) HENNESSY EMPLOYEE BENEFITS MOOT COURT COMPETITION

The ACEBC and The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, were proud to sponsor and host the second annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court, held Saturday, February 23, 2019, at the Columbus School of Law. The following "great eight" law school teams competed:

- University of Buffalo, School of Law
- The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
- Georgetown University Law Center
- John Marshall Law School
- University of Kentucky College of Law
- Washington University School of Law

The teams argued before experienced ERISA practitioners, including the former Assistant Secretary for the Employee Benefits Security Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor (and longtime friend and colleague of Nell Hennessy) the Honorable Phyllis C. Borzi, former Benefits Tax Counsel of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Honorable George H. Bostick, and the Director of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, the Honorable W. Thomas Reeder, Jr. The teams addressed hot topics that arise in the review of claim denials by ERISA plan administrators, including interlocutory appellate jurisdiction and the deferential arbitrary and capricious standard of review.

After several hard-fought rounds, Catholic and Georgetown's teams met for a second time in the finals. After more than an hour of argument and intensive questioning by the panel, the CUA team of Claudia Shannon and Kevin Sprenger won the team competition by a nose over the Georgetown team of Brent Bartlett and Anannya Tripathy. The Georgetown team won the Best Brief award, and the John Marshall School of Law's team of Sam Hensel and Sarah Magill won the Best Brief Runner-Up. Georgetown's Brent Bartlett won Best Oralist. The winners received cash awards, a first for the competition, and plaques. The ACEBC is also paying for the winning team to attend ACEBC's annual dinner, being held this year in Washington, D.C.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

> Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Kathryn J. Kennedy Chicago, IL

> Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC