The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Roland G. Simpson Roland G. Simpson, A Law Corporation 601 South Figueroa St. Suite 4050 Los Angeles, CA 90017 Phone: (213) 596-0918 Fax: (213) 596-0919 president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC treasurer@acebc.com

ASS'T TREASURER

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

SECRETARY

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

PAST PRESIDENT

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC pastpresident@acebc.com

ADMINISTRATOR

admin@acebc.com

Washington, DC – At its 20th Annual Induction Dinner on September 21, 2019, the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC) honored as new Fellows 20 employee benefits attorneys selected from throughout the country. The ACEBC also awarded its annual prizes to the winners of the College's writing competitions named in honor of Sydney M. Perlstadt and Alvin D. Lurie.

Induction as a Fellow of the ACEBC is viewed as national distinction for employee benefits lawyers who have made demonstrably substantive contributions to the field of employee benefits over the Fellow's entire career. Each nominee is required to have focused on employee benefits law for at least 20 years and have a sustained commitment to public awareness and understanding of benefits laws through such activities as writing, speaking, public policy analysis, public education or public service. Nominees are also required to have provided exceptionally high-quality professional services to clients, the bar, and the public. The inductees join over 400 current Fellows in the organization.

ACEBC is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and high-level symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys. The College also sponsors a law student outreach mentoring program and its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law and Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans.

"The College is honored to add this group of superb lawyers as new Fellows. Their sustained excellence and service to the employee benefits community and the public exemplifies what the College was created to recognize," said Roland Simpson of Roland G. Simpson, A Law Corporation in Los Angeles, California, and President of the College.

A list of the newly inducted Fellows and 2019 award winners is attached. The College's website is www.acebc.com. For further information, contact Roland Simpson at (213) 596-0918 or at president@acebc.com.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

> Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Kathryn J. Kennedy Chicago, IL

> Kurt L. Lawson Washington, DC

Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

J. Mark Poerio Washington, DC

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL 2019 Fellows

Ted M. Becker, Chicago, IL

Julie H. Burbank, San Ramon, CA

Louis Campagna, Washington, DC

Maya R. Crone, McLean, VA

Peter S. Dickinson, Glendale, CA

Benjamin Eisner, Philadelphia, PA

Peter E. Haller, New York, NY

Daniel I. Halperin (Honorary), Cambridge, MA

John H. Langbein (Honorary), New Haven, CT

Edward I. Leeds, Philadelphia, PA

Dinah S. Leventhal, Washington, DC

David N. Levine, Washington, DC

William W. Merten, Chicago, IL

Amy B. Monahan, Minneapolis, MN

Kevin E. Nolt, San Francisco, CA

Robert M. Projansky, New York, NY

Patricia A. Shlonsky, Cleveland, OH

Tara Silver-Malyska, Addison, TX

Andrew E. Staab, St. Paul, MN

Allison E. Wielobob, Arlington, VA

2019 Writing Prizes

Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award: Johnny D. Derogene, Chicago-Kent College of Law

Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award: Brandon M. Hall, Saint Louis University School of Law