# The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

### **OFFICERS**

### PRESIDENT

Roland G. Simpson Roland G. Simpson, A Law Corporation 601 South Figueroa St. Suite 4050 Los Angeles, CA 90017 Phone: (213) 596-0918 Fax: (213) 596-0919 president@acebc.com

### VICE-PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX vicepresident@acebc.com

### **TREASURER**

Kurt L. P. Lawson Washington, DC <u>treasurer@acebc.com</u>

### **ASS'T TREASURER**

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

### ASS'T TREASURER

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

### **SECRETARY**

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC secretary@acebc.com

### ASS'T SECRETARY

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

### ADMINISTRATOR

admin@acebc.com

### THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL & THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA, COLUMBUS SCHOOL OF LAW

### Are pleased to announce that

## CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY WINS THE ELLEN A. (NELL) HENNESSY EMPLOYEE BENEFITS MOOT COURT COMPETITION

The ACEBC and The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, were proud to sponsor and host the third annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court, held Saturday, February 22, 2020, at the Columbus School of Law. Seven teams from the following law schools competed:

- The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
- Drexel University, Kline School of Law
- Georgetown University Law Center
- The John Marshall Law School
- University of Kentucky, J. David Rosenberg College of Law

The teams argued before experienced ERISA practitioners, including the former Assistant Secretary for the Employee Benefits Security Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor (and longtime friend and colleague of Nell Hennessy) the Honorable Phyllis C. Borzi, former Benefits Tax Counsel of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Honorable George H. Bostick, and the former Director of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, the Honorable W. Thomas Reeder, Jr. The teams addressed hot topics that arise during court review of claim denials by ERISA plan administrators, including the standard of review of unclear plan terms and plan-mandated arbitration provisions.

After several hard-fought rounds, Catholic and Kentucky's teams met in the finals. After more than an hour of argument and intensive questioning by the panel, the CUA team of Peter Kim and Christina Pashaj won the LexisNexis Best Team Award by a nose over the University of Kentucky, David Rosenberg College of Law's team of Zachary Holt and Jacob Ludwig. Christina Pashaj also won Best Oralist. The Georgetown team of Javier Diaz and Soohuen Ham won the LexisNexis Best Brief award, and the Kentucky team also won the Best Brief Runner-Up. The winners received cash awards and plaques. The ACEBC is also paying for the winning team to attend ACEBC's annual dinner, being held this year in Chicago, Illinois. This is the first year that LexisNexis has sponsored the Competition.

### BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

> Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Kurt L. P. Lawson Washington, DC

> Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

John R. Paliga Washington, DC

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, D