The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Roland G. Simpson Roland G. Simpson, A Law Corporation 811 Wilshire Boulevard 17th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90017 Phone: (213) 596-0918 Fax: (213) 596-0919 president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

Kurt L. P. Lawson Washington, DC treasurer@acebc.com

ASS'T TREASURER

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

ASS'T TREASURER

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

SECRETARY

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

ADMINISTRATOR

admin@acebc.com

September 8, 2020

Washington, D.C. – The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBCTM) has named J. Mark Poerio of the Wagner Law Group as the winner of the College's 2020 Simplification Award for original ideas to simplify the complex laws applicable to employee benefit plans. Randy Hardock, Chair of the ACEBCTM Simplification Award Committee, will deliver the award's \$10,000 prize to Mr. Poerio at the College's 21st Annual Meeting and Induction Ceremony to be held virtually on Thursday, October 8, 2020. Mr. Poerio won the prize for his proposals to improve individual choices for defined contribution plan participants through an expanded PBGC mission.

The ACEBCTM Simplification Award has been established with a multi-year grant from a past president of the ACEBCTM, David E. Gordon of Frederic W. Cook & Co, Inc. Coincidentally, the 2020 winner, Mr Poerio is also a past president of the ACEBCTM although the ACEBCTM Board of Governors did not know the identity of the winner until it made the award. See the link to the rules below.

The competition for the 2021 ACEBCTM Simplification Award has opened. Its rules, FAQs, and template can be found on the ACEBCTM website at:

https://www.ACEBCTM.com/simplification-award-rules https://www.ACEBCTM.com/simplification-award-rules

Questions about the Simplification Award should be directed to Randy Hardock, at **rhhardock@david-harman.com**.

ACEBCTM is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare, and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and high-level symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

In addition to the Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans, the ACEBCTM also sponsors:

- a law student outreach mentoring program;
- its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law; and
- the Annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court Competition in partnership with the Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, addressing cutting edge employee benefits issues.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Brian J. Dougherty Philadelphia, PA

> Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Kurt L. P. Lawson Washington, DC

> Dana M. Muir Ann Arbor, MI

John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC