

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Baker Botts LLP 910 Louisiana Street Houston, TX Phone: (713) 229-1742 Fax: (713) 229-2742 president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ treasurer@acebc.com

SECRETARY

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA pastpresident@acebc.com

ADMINISTRATOR

admin@acebc.com

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL & THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA, COLUMBUS SCHOOL OF LAW

Are pleased to announce that DREXEL UNIVERSITY WINS THE ELLEN A. (NELL) HENNESSY EMPLOYEE BENEFITS MOOT COURT COMPETITION

The ACEBC and The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, were proud to sponsor and host the fourth annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court, held virtually on Saturday, March 27, 2021. Teams from the following law schools competed:

- UIC John Marshall Law School
- University of Cincinnati College of Law
- University of Texas School of Law
- Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law
- The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law (Two Teams)
- Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law and Georgetown University Law Center (Joint Team)
- Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law and Buffalo School of Law (Joint Team)

The teams argued before experienced ERISA practitioners, including the former Assistant Secretary for the Employee Benefits Security Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor (and longtime friend and colleague of Nell Hennessy) the Honorable Phyllis C. Borzi, former Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Treasury of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Honorable J. Mark Iwry, and the former Director of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, the Honorable W. Thomas Reeder, Jr. The teams addressed the denial of claim for retirement benefits and breach of fiduciary duty under a 401(k) plan.

After several hard-fought rounds, teams from the Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law and University of Texas School of Law met in the finals. After more than an hour of argument and intensive questioning by the panel, the Drexel team of Katherine Bell, Kylie DeMaria, and Sara Salvo won the LexisNexis Best Team Award by a nose over the University of Texas team of Metzeri Camacho and Liliana Jayme. Katherine Bell also won Best Oralist.

The Drexel / Buffalo School of Law team of Natalia Morrone, Mary Clay and Gregory Lebens-Higgins won the LexisNexis Best Brief award, and the CUA team of Caleb Parker and Mary Delaney won the Best Brief Runner-Up.

The winners receive cash awards. The ACEBC is also paying for the winning team to attend ACEBC's annual dinner, being held this year in Chicago, Illinois. This is the second year that LexisNexis has sponsored the Competition.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Michal S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX