

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Baker Botts LLP 910 Louisiana Street Houston, TX Phone: (713) 229-1742 Fax: (713) 229-2742 president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ <u>treasurer@acebc.com</u>

SECRETARY Douglas M. Selwyn

Houston, TX secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA pastpresident@acebc.com

ADMINISTRATOR admin@acebc.com

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

September 1, 2021

Washington, D.C. – The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC[®]) has named Emily Spreiser as the winner of the College's 2021 Simplification Award for original ideas to simplify the complex laws applicable to employee benefit plans. Randy Hardock, Chair of the ACEBC[®] Simplification Award Committee, will present the award's \$10,000 prize to Ms. Spreiser at the College's 22nd Annual Meeting and Induction. Ms. Spreiser won the prize for her proposal to simplify the QDRO process through common-sense disclosure rights for former spouses.

The ACEBC[®] Simplification Award has been established with a multi-year grant from a past president of the ACEBC[®], David E. Gordon of Frederic W. Cook & Co, Inc. Neither the Simplification Award Committee nor the Board of Governors knew the identity of the winner until the winning entry was selected. See the link to the rules below.

The competition for the 2022 ACEBC[®] Simplification Award will open in the fall. Further details on the rules for consideration of submissions for the 2022 Award will be posted at that time.

Questions about the Simplification Award should be directed to Randy Hardock, at rhhardock@davis-harman.com.

ACEBC[®] is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare, and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and highlevel symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

In addition to the Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans, the $ACEBC^{\mathbb{R}}$ also sponsors:

- a law student outreach mentoring program;
- its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law; and
- the Annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court Competition in partnership with the Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, addressing cutting edge employee benefits issues.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX