The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ treasurer@acebc.com

SECRETARY

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA pastpresident@acebc.com

ADMINISTRATOR

admin@acebc.com

September 2021

Washington, D.C. – The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC®) has named Christine O'Connell from the University of Chicago and Sara Kizer from Arizona State University as the winners of the College's 2021 Writing Competition Awards.

Ms. O'Connell won the 2021 Alvin D. Lurie Award for her paper entitled "Reconciling ERISA Preemption and Tenets of Trust Common Law." Ms. Kizer's winning entry entitled "All or Nothing: Mandating Self-Funded Employer Sponsored Health Plan Reporting to State All-Payer Claims Databases" won the 2021 Sidney M. Perlstadt Award.

Izzy Goldowitz, Chair of the Student Writing Competition Award Committee, will present the awards at the College's 22nd Annual Induction Ceremony to be held on Saturday, February 5, 2022, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

ACEBC® is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare, and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and highlevel symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

In addition to its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law; the ACEBC® also sponsors:

- a law student outreach mentoring program,
- a Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans, and
- the Annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court Competition in partnership with the Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, addressing cutting edge employee benefits issues.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Houston, TX

Israel Goldowitz Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Roland G. Simpson Los Angeles, CA

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX