

#### **OFFICERS**

### PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA president@acebc.com

### **VICE-PRESIDENT**

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC vicepresident@acebc.com

### TREASURER

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ treasurer@acebc.com

ASS'T TREASURER John R. Paliga Washington, DC

SECRETARY Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

ADMINISTRATOR admin@acebc.com

# The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

### THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL AND THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA, COLUMBUS SCHOOL OF LAW

## Are pleased to announce that UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA LAS VEGAS, WILLIAM S. BOYD SCHOOL OF LAW WINS THE ELLEN A. (NELL) HENNESSY EMPLOYEE BENEFITS MOOT COURT COMPETITION

The ACEBC<sup>®</sup> and The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, were proud to sponsor and host the fifth annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court, held virtually on Saturday, March 26, 2022. Teams from the following law schools competed:

- The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
- Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law
- UIC John Marshall Law School
- University of Nevada Las Vegas William S. Boyd School of Law
- University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law
- University at Buffalo School of Law
- West Virginia University College of Law
- Georgetown University Law Center

The teams argued before experienced ERISA practitioners, including the former Assistant Secretary for the Employee Benefits Security Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor (and longtime friend and colleague of Nell Hennessy) the Honorable Phyllis C. Borzi, former Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Treasury of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Honorable J. Mark Iwry, and the former Director of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, the Honorable W. Thomas Reeder, Jr. The teams addressed the evolving ERISA case law regarding cybersecurity and fiduciary status of plan service providers, as well as whether data is a plan asset.

After several hard-fought rounds, teams from the University of Nevada Las Vegas William S. Boyd School of Law and UIC John Marshall Law School met in the finals. After more than an hour of argument and intensive questioning by the panel, the University of Nevada Las Vegas team of Madeline Coles and Theresa Trenholm won the LexisNexis Best Team Award by a nose over the UIC John Marshall Law School team of Meaghan Mahoney and DeEdward Edwards. Josephine Gale from the University of Maryland Francis King Carey won Best Oralist.

The University of Nevada Las Vegas team of Madeline Coles and Theresa Trenholm also won the LexisNexis Best Brief award, and West Virginia University College of Law team of Alexis Schneider and Cameron LeFevre won the Best Brief Runner-Up.

The winners receive cash awards. The ACEBC is also paying for the winning team to attend ACEBC's annual dinner, being held this year in Chicago, Illinois. This is the third year that LexisNexis has sponsored the Competition.

### BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Gordon D. Klepper Potomac, MD

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> Kathryn L. Moore Lexington, KY

John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX