

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT Joni L. Andrioff

Washington, DC vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ treasurer@acebc.com

ASS'T TREASURER John R. Paliga Washington, DC

SECRETARY Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

ADMINISTRATOR admin@acebc.com

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

September 2022

Chicago, IL – The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC[®]) has named Taylor Costanzo from The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law and Annette DeSipio from Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law as the winners of the College's 2022 Student Writing Competition Awards.

Ms. Costanzo won the 2022 Alvin D. Lurie Award for her paper entitled "A Dream Deferred: An Analysis of the Current Retirement Landscape and the Changes Needed to Save the American Retirement Dream." Ms. DeSipio's winning entry entitled "*Sulyma* and Its Aftermath: ERISA's Fiduciary Statute of Limitations and the Meaning of Knowledge" won the 2022 Sidney M. Perlstadt Award.

Frances King Quick, Chair of the Student Writing Competition Award Committee, will present the awards at the College's 22nd Annual Induction Ceremony to be held on Saturday, September 17, 2022, at the Chicago Club in Chicago, Illinois.

ACEBC[®] is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare, and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and highlevel symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable database of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

In addition to its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law, the ACEBC[®] also sponsors:

- a law student outreach mentoring program,
- a Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans, and
- the Annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court Competition in partnership with The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, addressing cutting edge employee benefits issues.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Gordon D. Klepper Potomac, MD

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> Kathryn L. Moore Lexington, KY

John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

> Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX