

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ treasurer@acebc.com

ASS'T TREASURER

John R. Paliga Washington, DC

SECRETARY

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX secretary@acebc.com

ASS'T SECRETARY

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

ADMINISTRATOR admin@acebc.com

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

Chicago, IL – At its 23rd Annual Meeting and Induction Ceremony held in on September 17, 2022, the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC®) honored as new Fellows 17 employee benefits attorneys selected from throughout the country. The ACEBC® also awarded its annual prizes to the winners of the College's writing competitions named in honor of Sydney M. Perlstadt and Alvin D. Lurie.

Induction as a Fellow of the ACEBC® is viewed as national distinction for employee benefits lawyers who have made demonstrably substantive contributions to the field of employee benefits over the Fellow's entire career. Each nominee is required to have focused on employee benefits law for at least 20 years and have a sustained commitment to public awareness and understanding of benefits laws through such activities as writing, speaking, public policy analysis, public education, or public service. Nominees are also required to have provided exceptionally high-quality professional services to clients, the bar, and the public. The inductees join over 400 current Fellows in the organization.

ACEBC® is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare, and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and highlevel symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable data base of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys. The College also sponsors a law student outreach mentoring program and its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law and Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans.

"The College is honored to add this group of superb lawyers as new Fellows. Their sustained excellence and service to the employee benefits community and the public exemplifies what the College was created to recognize," said Mark Bodron of Lumen Technologies, Inc. in Monroe, Louisiana, and President of the College.

A list of the newly inducted Fellows and 2022 award winners is attached. The College's website is www.acebc.com. For further information, contact Mark Bodron at (713) 229-1742 or at president@acebc.com.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Gordon D. Klepper Potomac, MD

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> Kathryn L. Moore Lexington, KY

John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Robert W. Rachal New Orleans, LA

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

> Erin M. Sweeney Washington, DC

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL 2022 FELLOWS

Cassie Springer Ayeni, San Leandro, CA

Susan E. Bernstein, New York, NY

Michelle Capezza, New York, NY

Sandra W. Cohen, New York, NY

Lauson C. Green, Washington, DC

Russell L. Hirschhorn, New York, NY

Joel R. Hurt, Philadelphia, PA

Jason P. Lacey, Wichita, KS

Mary E. Powell, San Francisco, CA

Edward A. Razim III, Houston, TX

Erin M. Riley, Seattle, WA

Mary K. Samsa, Chicago, IL

Vanessa A. Scott, Washington, DC

Peter K. Stris, Los Angeles, CA

David S. Thomas, Palo Alto, CA

Carolyn M. Trenda, Chicago, IL

Matthew I. Whitehorn, Philadelphia, PA

2022 Writing Prizes

Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award: Taylor L.K. Costanzo, The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law

Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award: Annette M. DeSipio, Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law