

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

John R. Paliga Washington, DC treasurer@acebc.com

CO-SECRETARY Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

secretary@acebc.com

CO-SECRETARY Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX secretary@acebc.com

ADMINISTRATOR admin@acebc.com

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA

The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL AND THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA, COLUMBUS SCHOOL OF LAW

Are pleased to announce that

THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA, COLUMBUS SCHOOL OF LAW WINS THE ELLEN A. (NELL) HENNESSY EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 6TH Annual MOOT COURT COMPETITION

The ACEBC[®] and The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, were proud to sponsor and host the sixth annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court Competition, held on Saturday, March 4, 2023. Teams from the following law schools competed:

- The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
- Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law
- George Washington University Law School
- University of Kentucky, J. David Rosenberg College of Law

The teams argued before experienced ERISA practitioners, including former Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Treasury of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Honorable J. Mark Iwry, the former Director of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, the Honorable W. Thomas Reeder, Jr., and experienced ERISA litigator, Ms. Denise Clark. The teams addressed the evolving ERISA case law regarding fiduciary duties that are involved in administering Qualified Domestic Relations Orders and the statute of limitations for filing claims under ERISA.

After several hard-fought rounds, teams from The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law and Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law met in the finals. After more than an hour of argument and intensive questioning by the panel, The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law team of Betsy McMullen, Grace Best, and Maria Hershey won the Best Team Award by a nose over the Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law team of Dominic Mussoline and Matthew Soliman. Matthew Soliman also won Best Oralist.

The George Washington University Law School team of Zachary Carlton and Anna Schwartz won the Best Brief award and The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law team of Betsy McMullen, Grace Best, and Maria Hershey won the Best Brief Runner-Up.

The winners will receive cash awards. The ACEBC[®] is also paying for the winning team and Best Oralist to attend ACEBC's annual dinner, being held this year on November 4 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA

Denise M. Clark Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Gordon D. Klepper Potomac, MD

Ivelisse Berio LeBeau Miami, FL

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> Kathryn L. Moore Lexington, KY

John R. Paliga Washington, DC

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Martha N. Steinman New York, NY

> Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX