The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

treasurer@acebc.com

CO-SECRETARY

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX secretary@acebc.com

CO-SECRETARY

Susan A. Wetzel
Dallas, TX
secretary@acebc.com

ADMINISTRATOR

admin@acebc.com

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA October 2023

New Orleans, LA – The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC®) has named Brendan Mohan from the University of Akron School of Law and Jonathan Nickas from New York University School of Law as the winners of the College's 2023 Student Writing Competition Awards.

Mr. Mohan won the 2023 Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award for his paper entitled "Dobbs v. Employee Benefits: Major Questions Left After the Landmark Decision." Mr. Nickas' winning entry entitled "Hoops, LP v. Commissioner: Section 404(a)(5) and the Assumption of Deferred Compensation Liabilities in the Sale of a Business" won the 2023 Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award.

Frances King Quick, Chair of the Student Writing Competition Award Committee, will present the awards at the College's 23rd Annual Induction Ceremony to be held on Saturday, November 4, 2023, at the National WWII Museum in New Orleans, Louisiana.

ACEBC® is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is: "Fostering excellence in the practice of employee benefits law and advancing public understanding of employee benefits." The College advances its mission by encouraging the study and development of employee benefits laws and of significant legal and social policy issues impacting the regulation and management of pension, retirement, group health, welfare, and disability plans. It pursues those goals by initiating professional discussions and highlevel symposiums of significant issues, offering a searchable database of Fellows who are willing to serve as expert witnesses and/or mediators, cosponsoring continuing legal education programs, and recognizing the achievements of distinguished employee benefits attorneys.

In addition to its national law student writing competitions to encourage legal scholarship in this evolving area of law, the ACEBC® also sponsors:

- a law student outreach mentoring program,
- a Simplification Award to inspire ideas to simplify the regulation of employee benefit plans, and
- the Annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court Competition in partnership with The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, addressing cutting edge employee benefits issues.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA

Denise M. Clark Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Gordon D. Klepper Potomac, MD

Ivelisse Berio LeBeau Miami, FL

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> Kathryn L. Moore Lexington, KY

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Martha N. Steinman New York, NY

> Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX