# The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

#### **OFFICERS**

PRESIDENT Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

# president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ vicepresident@acebc.com

INTERIM TREASURER R. Bradford Huss

San Francisco, CA treasurer@acebc.com

#### **CO-SECRETARY**

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX <u>secretary@acebc.com</u>

CO-SECRETARY Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

ADMINISTRATOR admin@acebc.com

secretary@acebc.com

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA New Orleans, LA – At its 23rd Annual Meeting and Gala on November 4, 2023, at the WWII Museum, the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel (ACEBC<sup>®</sup>) inducted 11 employee benefits attorneys from across the country as new Fellows. The ACEBC<sup>®</sup> also awarded its annual prizes to the winners of the Sydney M. Perlstadt and Alvin D. Lurie student writing competitions; the student Moot Court competition honoring charter member Nell Hennessy; and the competition for proposals simplifying employee benefit plan regulation.

"The College is pleased to welcome our distinguished 2023 Class of Fellows and to honor them for their sustained excellence and service to the employee benefits community and the public at large. We're also extremely proud of all of our award winners," said Joni L. Andrioff, College President and senior director at RSM US LLP in Washington, DC.

ACEBC<sup>®</sup> Fellows are nationally recognized for professional excellence and a sustained commitment over a career spanning at least 20 years to public awareness and understanding of the law impacting retirement plans, healthcare coverage, welfare and disability benefits, fringe benefits and other employee benefits and employment compensation arrangements affecting the American workforce.

The College's over 450 Fellows advance its important mission through public discourse of significant legal and social policy issues in employee benefits law through such activities as writing, speaking, teaching, and leadership in bar and professional associations, and through other College activities.

In addition to its annual Gala and student writing, Moot Court and simplification competitions, the College presents symposiums, educational programming and training on employee benefit and employment compensation topics, periodically engages with government agencies on employee benefit regulatory matters and offers a searchable data base of Fellows who serve as expert witnesses and mediators. The College is a 501(c)(3) organization.

A list of the newly inducted Fellows and 2023 award winners is attached. The College's website is <u>www.acebc.com</u>. For further information, contact Joni Andrioff at (312) 310-1957 or at <u>president@acebc.com</u>.

#### BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Mark A. Bodron Monroe, LA

Denise M. Clark Washington, DC

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> Daniel N. Janich Chicago, IL

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Gordon D. Klepper Potomac, MD

Ivelisse Berio LeBeau Miami, FL

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> Kathryn L. Moore Lexington, KY

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

> Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Douglas M. Selwyn Houston, TX

Martha N. Steinman New York, NY

> Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

## AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL 2023 FELLOWS

R. Joseph Barton, Washington, DC Vicki D. Blanton, Dallas, TX
Stacey C.S. Cerrone, New Orleans, LA
Dominic DeMatties, Washington, DC
Matthew J. Eickman, Omaha, NE
Clarissa A. Kang, San Francisco, CA
Stephanie Schroepfer, Houston, TX
Stefan P. Smith, Dallas, TX
David Whaley, Cincinnati, OH
Kim Wilcoxon, Cincinnati, OH
Allison T. Wilkerson, Dallas, TX

## **2023 STUDENT WRITING COMPETITION PRIZES**

Alvin D. Lurie Memorial Award: Brendan Mohan, University of Akron School of Law

Sidney M. Perlstadt Memorial Award: Jonathan Nickas, New York University School of Law

## 2023 ELLEN A. (NELL) HENNESSY EMPLOYEE BENEFITS MOOT COURT COMPETITION PRIZES

Best Team:

Grace Best, Maria Hershey, and Betsy McMullen The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law

> Best Brief: Anna Schwartz and Zachary Charlton George Washington University Law School

Best Oral Advocate: Matthew Soliman Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law

## **2023 SIMPLIFICATION AWARD PRIZE**

Winner: John Turner, Washington, DC

Honorable Mention: Anna-Marie Tabor, Visiting Professor University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth, MA