The American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC president@acebc.com

VICE-PRESIDENT

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ vicepresident@acebc.com

TREASURER

Bret Hamlin Tampa, FL treasurer@acebc.com

SECRETARY

Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX secretary@acebc.com

ADMINISTRATOR

admin@acebc.com

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMPLOYEE BENEFITS COUNSEL AND THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF A MERICA, COLUMBUS SCHOOL OF LAW

are pleased to announce that

DREXEL UNIVERSITY, THOMAS R. KLINE SCHOOL OF LAW WINS THE ELLEN A. (NELL) HENNESSY EMPLOYEE BENEFITS MOOT COURT COMPETITION

The ACEBC® and The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, were proud to sponsor and host the seventh annual Ellen A. (Nell) Hennessy Moot Court, held on Friday and Saturday, March 1-2, 2024. Fourteen Teams from the following law schools competed:

- Baylor University School of Law
- The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
- Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law
- George Mason University, Antonin Scalia Law School
- The George Washington University Law School
- Penn State Dickinson Law
- Regent University School of Law
- University of California College of the Law, San Francisco
- Washington University School of Law, Washington University in St. Louis
- William & Mary Law School

The teams argued before experienced ERISA practitioners, including the Honorable Patricia A. Millett, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit; Raja Krishnamoorthi, U.S. Representative for Illinois's 8th Congressional District; the Honorable Joshua D. Wolson, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania; the Honorable Phyllis C. Borzi, former Assistant Secretary of the Employee Benefits Security Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor (and longtime friend and colleague of Nell Hennessy) former Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Treasury of the U.S. Department of the Treasury the Honorable J. Mark Iwry, and the Honorable W. Thomas Reeder, Jr., the former Director of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation. The teams addressed current topics in employee benefits law through briefs and multiple rounds of oral argument.

After several hard-fought rounds, teams from Drexel University and George Mason University met in the finals. After more than an hour of argument and intensive questioning by the panel, the Drexel University, Thomas R. Kline School of Law team of Emily Marquez, Kayla Borowitz, and Janelle Scillia won the Best Team Award by a nose over the George Mason University, Antonin Scalia Law School team of Walker Anderson and Nicholas Franchi. Winnie Zhong from the George Washington University Law School won Best Oralist.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Joni L. Andrioff Washington, DC

Denise M. Clark Washington, DC

> Bret Hamlin Tampa, FL

Karen L. Handorf Washington, DC

Randolf H. Hardock Washington, DC

> John R. Harney Washington, DC

Regina T. Jefferson Washington, DC

Gordon D. Klepper Potomac, MD

Ivelisse Berio LeBeau Miami, FL

Michael S. Melbinger Chicago, IL

> Kathryn L. Moore Lexington, KY

Joseph L. Paller, Jr. Los Angeles, CA

Frank Palmieri Princeton, NJ

Frances King Quick Brimingham, AL

Martha N. Steinman New York, NY

> Susan A. Wetzel Dallas, TX

The third-place teams included Caroline Bugge, Audrey Coffee, and Lea Schiefele from the William & Mary Law School and Nicole Hudgens, Abbagail Badley, and Danielle Wong from Regent University. The George Washington University team of Winnie Zhong and Xinyu Qiang won the Best Brief award, and the Drexel University team of Emily Marquez, Kayla Borowitz, and Janelle Scillia won the Best Brief Runner-Up.

The winners receive cash awards. The ACEBC® is also paying for the winning team to attend ACEBC's annual dinner, being held this year at the National Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC. This year's sponsors included: Stris & Maher LLP, Presenting Sponsor; Miller & Chevalier, Saturday Award Ceremony Sponsor; Douglas M. Selwyn, First-Place Team Sponsor; and O'Melveny & Myers LLP, Best Oralist & Best Brief Sponsor. ACEBC® Fellows Peter Stris, a partner at Stris & Maher, LLP, and Tess Gee, a partner at Miller & Chevalier Chartered, co-Chaired this year's competition.